The list of #1’s this week in history is updated and here is a reason music in the late 50’s was so much fun!

I know, what a long title that was. But I wanted you to know the list has been updated for this week and to announce the song you will hear below.

I was hiking late this afternoon, checking out a 6.5 mile hike a Meetup group will be doing on Sunday. I had my iPod playing and enjoying a great trail, high above Lake Elsinore. Then this song came on and it made me laugh at some of the lyrics we had back in the day. The song is called “Jo-Jo The Dog-Faced Boy.” The singer is Annette.

You might not have even heard this before since it only reached #73 after 4 short weeks on the Hot 100. It charted on 4/13/59. It was her follow-up to “Tall Paul” (she was dating Paul Anka at the time). But you will have to admit it is a fun little tune. Sit back, crank up the speakers and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The list of #1’s this week in history is updated and here is a reason music in the late 50’s was so much fun!

  1. Mari Rutter Davis says:

    Yeah, because Paul Anka was SO tall.

  2. sdsu78 says:

    I was lucky enough to meet Paul after a concert in San Diego and I brought a milk carton for him to stand on so we could see eye to eye….lol. It was kinda neat because while I stood waiting to talk with him (a woman who used to work for me had set me up with a backstage pass), Paul was talking to Lou Rawles (he is not so tall either).

    I had also been able to meet Paul’s dad, Andy, and actually had many phone meetings and one lunch with Andy in planning a dinner at Paul’s restaurant in Las Vegas, Jubilation. Andy was a very nice man and told my boss during lunch that I knew more about his son than he did. Thank goodness he was laughing when he said it.

  3. Margaret says:

    LOL…and that’s probably what Annette was doing when they gave her this song to sing. You are correct…to my recollection I have not heard it before…or just don’t remember.

    It was good to see the pictures of Annette when she was young and healthy…brings back memories of long ago.

Leave a comment